How do you storyboard if you cannot draw?

Ok first I must apologies for the lack of updates. The last couple of weeks have been rather hectic with Pete being sick (British immune system go figure) and me being stuck between various odd jobs for people. But we are both back on track and raring to go! The script is of course being reworked and reworked which has of course lead me to believe that scripts are never finished but are rather an ongoing exercise in frustration. As soon as you allow someone to look at them they seem to distort and any gapping holes become apparent. Kind of like a moviemaker’s version of Heisenberg’s Uncertainty principle…(resounding sound of nothing but a lonely cough)…um right so I guess I’m the only one that reads about quantum physics in my spare time. Ok word of advice, if you think you are finished and you enjoy that feeling of completion, then it pays to not show it to anybody! We learnt the hard way and showed it to our EP Peter Hayden, our lecturer Ian McGee and filmmaker Rod Morris. 3 people, and three different sets of feedback! We shouldn’t complain because they identified some gaping holes we had missed and as much as I wished our script to be finished, in the long run this feedback is nothing but helpful…documentary tough love! So back to the drawing board, but on a positive note we have done enough progress to do some story boarding…Hurrah! That means I can pick up a camera soon! Which leads me to the title of the blog. I love art and I wished I could draw something more substantial than stickmen in compromising positions. It is probably the reason why I became a photographer or what the art world calls: Painters that cannot draw. So below is an example of my storyboarding technique, basically draw something to seem like I have done work and then scribble it out and replace with words…brilliant if only my high school art teacher could see me now. That vaguely animal looking figure is in fact our possum we shall soon be filming, with a green screen no less! Watch out Hollywood! Another exciting development, Pete has just order 5kg of dry ice (insert evil maniacal laugh here)…what will it be used for? Ha-ha wait and see, all I can say is this is going to be fun!

Steve

 possum2

One Response to How do you storyboard if you cannot draw?

  1. Sophie says:

    Hurray an update! I can’t draw either, but I don’t let that stop me from doing so.
    Enjoying watching your project grow.
    Sophie

Leave a comment